DynamoDB as a Serverless Service

Link to chapter - https://serverless-stack.com/chapters/dynamodb-as-a-serverless-service.html

Hello, looks like this code is for starting a new project using microservices. Can i still follow this if i want to change my existing app to be in the form of microservices? i.e. i delete serverless.yml in the root and create new serverless.yml files in each service folder? Will this create new S3 bucket, functions and aws resources and delete the existing buckets, resources, functions etc.?
Sorry if this is stupid, i am new to aws, serverless.
Thank you

So the key thing here is the name of service in the serverless.yml.

If you change that name and re-deploy, then it’ll create a new set of resources. But it is totally fine if you move the serverless.yml file around in different folders and deploy from there.

1 Like

Thank you. So i created serverless.yml files in each service and aws created new resources. i can live with that for now. While creating new serverless.yml files, i deleted everything in the serverless.yml of the root directory except the following:

service: notes-app-2-api

#  Use the serverless-webpack plugin to transpile ES6
plugins:
  - serverless-webpack
  - serverless-offline

custom:
  webpack:
    webpackConfig: ./webpack.config.js
    includeModules: true

provider:
  name: aws
  runtime: nodejs8.10
  stage: dev
  region: us-east-1

I am getting the following error when running sls deploy in the root folder:

Webpack Options Validation Error -----------------------

Invalid configuration object. Webpack has been initialised using a configuration object that does not match the API schema.
 - configuration.entry should be one of these:
   object { <key>: non-empty string | [non-empty string] } | non-empty string | [non-empty string] | function
   -> The entry point(s) of the compilation.
   Details:
    * configuration.entry should not be empty.